Not logged inOpenClonk Forum
Up Topic General / Feedback and Ideas / Why it's difficult for newbies to get into OpenClonk develop
- - By Anonymous [de] Date 2012-06-03 01:10
First of all, I'm not a newbie to Clonk, but to OpenClonk development. So, I (should) know C4Script quite well, though I neither played Clonk nor developed anything regarding Clonk since approximately two years now (however - developing in Clonk made me get into programming, which I really appreciate).
So, I recently found OpenClonk, played it some time and like the game so far (even though looks really unfinished). Therefore I have been looking into and reading the forums for some time now (and the documentation, FAQ etc. I have found) to get into OC development.

However, even if it would be easily possible to develop a new object and show it here in the forums (ah well, if I look at my modeling skills, it would not be so easy for me... :( ), I am missing some kind of overall concept: You could develop an object you like an hope: "Uh, hopefully they like it and put it into the game...", and maybe, if many people do so, you would get some good objects that fit into OC, but of course it is better if there's some kind of list telling the community what has to be done, what objects are missing, which Engine functionality should be added/improved etc., a design document. Well, it seems that there are some internal developers (as you see in the game info tab), but there is no (or I simply am to supid to find *cough*) document you can read and then know: "ah, that is planned, that are the ideas for [insert any], that is how the core developers think of XYZ...".