Not logged inOpenClonk Forum
Up Topic Development / Developer's Corner / Translations?
- - By Anonymous [fr] Date 2016-04-13 00:31
Do you plan to realize translations of this wonderful game? I suppose I won't be the only one to offer you to translate the game (I speak french and english, and know a bit of german; I can translate the game in french), then if you agree, you could maybe install a localization group, and give to anyone interested to help develop this great game an address to contact or a process to follow to be able to include the group...
If however this question has already been treated, please excuse me, I know your game since Mageia Linux included it in the distribution's packages but it's my first attempt to post in the forum.
M. de Morangies <magali.demorangies@gmail.com>
Parent - - By Clonkonaut [de] Date 2016-04-13 08:43
It is possible for you to translate the game and if you are interested, we can certainly provide you with all necessary data (if you cannot get it yourself by e.g. cloning the repository). We would of course include your translation or put a download link somewhere.

Two things to consider:
- Translation will take time. There is a lot of text to translate. Do not underestimate this. ;)
- The translation will be obsolete once a new release comes out. Usually, there are a lot of changes in newer versions of the game and if no one maintain the translation, a french person will end up with a mix of English and French.
Parent - By Maikel Date 2016-04-13 08:50
One can always start with the engine strings, as these are more stable. The strings to be translated are found here: https://git.openclonk.org/openclonk.git/blob/HEAD:/planet/System.ocg/LanguageUS.txt
Parent - - By Zapper [de] Date 2016-04-13 09:31

>- The translation will be obsolete once a new release comes out