Not logged inOpenClonk Forum
Up Topic General / General / [Request] Faq/Guide for beginners
- - By MastroLindo Date 2009-05-19 10:01
First of all: with beginners I don't mean people that doesn't have any idea of programming, game programming and so on. I guess that people who are really interested should search for this information in the 1040304320432 places where you can already find it.

As for me, I am a computer science engineer, I have good knowledge of many programming languages (C/C++/C#/Java the main ones). I have little to no experience at all in game developing, but because of my passion I am starting to study it for my own with books, tutorials and so on. So already now I guess I have at least a general view on the process, main concepts, use of APIs like directX or openGL and so on.

So let's just say: I have quite good experience on "standard programming" and starting having some theoretical one on game programming.

Soon I will have more free time and I would like to help people here developing openclonk, both because I love clonk and would like to help shaping a new title, and because I think collaborating here could help me learning a lot in this field.

I see from forums that many actual developers have already worked in the past on clonk and so they already know several aspects of the code and of the design of the title.

Unluckily, I don't share the same luck.

So for me and for other programmers that might come from the net, I think it would be really helpful to start contributing, if a kind of guide or FAQ could be written around main, basic areas of interests like:

-main architecture of the software (some sorts of diagram would help)
-organization of the source code
-description of implementation specific subjects (only on big areas like, for example,  landscape creation/storing/rendering)