Not logged inOpenClonk Forum
Up Topic Development / Art Workshop / Background Music try
- - By Koronis [de] Date 2012-07-04 14:15
Hey folks,

I thought that the game could need some background music. So I tried to kompose a short sequence for you to judge if it fits or not. If so I could try to make a few songs like this and make them longer (1-2 minutes+). Let me know what you think! It's my first try doing sth. like this so don't spare your criticism.
Parent - By Koronis [de] Date 2012-07-05 17:34
Okay so I worked a bit more on it so it has 1:52 length now.

Can someone move this topic to the Art section please? :)
Attachment: Clonk2.2.mp3 (1767k)
Parent - By Newton [de] Date 2012-07-05 22:28
Mh, to be honest I don't like the style. Too midi-ly for the taste, very retro.
Parent - By Koronis [de] Date 2012-07-05 23:00
Well that's okay :) . Thanks for the feedback. Seems the general perception (we talked a bit in the IRC) is rather not that positive either. I just felt that the game should really have music. Saves me time for other things however.
Parent - - By boni [at] Date 2012-07-10 14:04 Edited 2012-07-10 14:08
Nice try. That must've been quite a bit of work.

I think as we're tending in a bit of a wonky/realistic/steampunk direction, maybe some music with a more mechanical component would be more fitting. The cheery stuff from the old Clonk titles doesn't fit that well anymore.

What does everybody think about something like this? It sounds a bit too much like a circus, but instrument-wise it'd fit?
Also this.
Parent - By Matthias [de] Date 2012-07-10 16:40

> Also this.

That second one is quite nice. A tad too dynamic and intense for repeated ingame usage (for my tastes), but overall pretty fitting. Maybe a good candidate for title screen music.
Parent - - By Newton [de] Date 2012-07-10 17:08
+1

See Matthias :-)