Not logged inOpenClonk Forum
Up Topic General / Help and Questions / Experience and ranks
- - By Thoradyn [de] Date 2012-10-19 00:59
Hi there
I have two questions regarding the experience and ranks of your clonks:

1. How does a clonk improve if he ranks up? Back in Clonk planet, a clonk had "skills" like climbing and swimming. When he got to a higher rank, his skills were increased, he had more HP and was stronger in melee and stuff. Is this similar in OpenClonk?

2. What actions give experience? I was just wondering for what my clonks get experience, like for cutting trees or for blowing up iron veins?

cheers
Thoradyn
Parent - By J. J. [py] Date 2012-10-19 01:26
That is a good question. :\
Parent - - By Ringwaul [ca] Date 2012-10-19 03:01
Unless I am very much mistaken, the rank is just an indicator of how experienced you are playing the game for other players to see.

As a game mechanic, I think it's horrible design to give experienced players bonuses; it's reverse balancing. This is why things like "Fair Crew" had to be introduced. Now all clonks are physically equal at all times, regardless of rank.
Parent - - By Yokaikp [in] Date 2012-10-19 12:10
But why not introduce LEVELLING???So that ppl cud enjoy focusing on one clonk only(With 50 Hp,It dies EASILY)so higher the level=better the HP atleast?
Parent - By Pyrit Date 2012-10-19 12:46
I think it would be unfair of a new player plays against a experienced one. As a newbie it's already difficult enough to play against someone who knows exactly how the game works, even of they has the same level. And i think all agree that openclonk wants to attract new players and not scare them away by them having to play against imbalanced enemies.

On the other hand: Fair Clonks Button, "noob-servers", etc...
Parent - - By Clonkonaut [de] Date 2012-10-19 12:56 Edited 2012-10-19 13:01