Not logged inOpenClonk Forum
Up Topic General / General / A few considerations on the project in general
- - By MastroLindo Date 2010-03-30 15:44 Edited 2010-03-30 15:59
Hi guys,

after reading a bit some posts in the forum, I am realizing more and more that the project lacks a big part of the DESIGN phase.

Let me explain.

In the last 4/5 topics I have read, I have always found discussions and posts about features and implementations of features in OC in a really mixed way.
For example in the topic related to the inventory system there are discussions regarding features of the systems, way of implementing them, interfaces, menus, buttons, down to the precise keyboard buttons that the user has to press in order to achieve.

Now. As I said in some past topics, I am not a real expert in game developing. But as far as it comes to software developing I have a lot of experience, and I can tell you that this method
1)doesn't work really well: it creates confusion and long-eternal discussions that are almost useless to the real development
2)will make some people unhappy and generate criticisms for people wanting different approaches to specific topics

What I propose:

First of all:
separate design from implementation. Before discussing how to implement something, everybody should agree (or at least know) on what to implement.
WHAT to implement, not HOW.

There should be a feature list of things that are willed to be inserted in the game, from a very high level point of view.
Things like "the user should be able to directly use a limited number of objects" instead of "the user should have two slots for using objects"
Thngs like "the user could use any object in more than one way" instead of "the user should have a modifier on ctrl,shift and alt to allow throwing an object"