Not logged inOpenClonk Forum
Up Topic Development / Scenario & Object Development / Creating game content
- - By TheLinuxist [de] Date 2010-12-18 17:11
Hello,

I'm new to OpenClonk, so I'm sorry if this question seems somehow... stupid. I've been playing Clonk since Clonk Planet became Freeware, and I also was developing objects and scenarios. But how do I access the editor mode in OC? I can't find any "Editor.exe" in my dir like with Clonk?
Thanks in advance! Great Work!
Parent - By Zapper [de] Date 2010-12-18 17:35 Edited 2010-12-18 17:40
If you want to start developing content, you should get an up-to-date version of the game data by cloning the OC repository (see here - only the clone thing!!).
Then you should follow the instructions here and get Eclipse

PS: The first step basically means installing TortoiseHG and cloning http://hg.openclonk.org/openclonk/ via rightclick->clone

PPS: Or just Mercurial for Linux of course, as you like
Parent - - By Günther [de] Date 2010-12-18 17:36
You make a copy of the game content, unpack it with c4group pack.c4? -x, create a copy of an object/scenario that's similar to your goal, and edit away. The editor is started with clonk --editor.
Parent - - By Zapper [de] Date 2010-12-18 17:39

>The editor is started with clonk --editor.

Guenther is not talking about Editor.exe here, though. I think you should head for Eclipse, TheLinuxist
Parent - - By TheLinuxist [de] Date 2010-12-18 17:56
Thank you. I will work myself into that. By the way, is there already a way to build and settle?
Parent - By Zapper [de] Date 2010-12-18 18:31

>is there already a way to build and settle?

No, not yet - settlement stuff will be the next big milestone
- - By TheLinuxist [de] Date 2010-12-19 18:19 Edited 2010-12-19 18:22