Not logged inOpenClonk Forum
Up Topic General / Help and Questions / Clonk Terrain / Fluid Engine
- - By zorry [de] Date 2011-05-22 14:05
Hi
Im a indie developer and i am planning a project with destructable terrain and fluid.
I was wondering how it is possible in Clonk to process such giant landscapes with water and earth with such a perfect framerate.
Coul somebody of you explain me how it works? I would look the Code up by myself, but I am not familliar with C++ (Im C#-Coder)

Thanks
zorry
Parent - - By Zapper [de] Date 2011-05-22 14:10
The whole landscape is stored as a huge two dimensional array where you can quickly get and set single pixels (to change the material from earth to tunnel, for example).

I can not say much about the drawing or the liquids, though - maybe someone else can explain that :)

(Our ultimate goal is to have polygon-based landscapes by the way. Those work a lot better with zooming and certain stuff (for physics))
Parent - - By zorry [de] Date 2011-05-22 14:20
I also thought about polygon based landscape, but i will have a lot of liquid, so this would lag very much ;)
Yea what i really need to know is how the "moving" materials work. like water and sand.
Parent - By B_E [de] Date 2011-05-22 15:57 Edited 2011-05-22 16:05
I think a main part of that (especially liquids) is done by the so-called "MassMover". I remember there was some kind of article or documentation about it somewhere, I'll see if I can find it.

[Edit]
Can't find it anymore, the best thing is probably to ask one of the engine-devs about the massmover and PXS.
Parent - - By Sven2 [de] Date 2011-05-22 16:19 Edited 2011-05-22 16:22