Not logged inOpenClonk Forum
Up Topic General / Feedback and Ideas / A hello with some feedback attached.
- - By Heyub [us] Date 2011-07-18 21:22 Edited 2011-07-18 21:27
Hi, I am new to clonk and have found the game thus far entertaining.

I love the graphics, on many games that allow you to build and remove material (don't forget killing things!) the graphics lack.  I am glad to see that OpenClonk's graphics are not the least neglected.  The combat is also very well done, this is the only game of its kind that I have seen implement being able to throw farther by running, great idea!  I also like how you can throw materials (such as gold chunk) and cause damage, who dosnt like a snow ba-- err I mean gold ball fight.  Another key feature I have seen is the ability to climb, I simply love it.  It could use some work though, when using grapple the "climb" feature sometimes gets in the way.  The inventory is a bit small, if you ask me, but being able to use left click and right click to use different items is a nice feature.  Picking up items after those are full is sometimes a pain, perhaps some way of picking items up from the ground and placing in inventory would help instead of it all going to the two primary item slots.

I hope you continue developing the mac version of this game, I have windows but I prefer my mac.

~Heyub
Parent - By Sven2 [de] Date 2011-07-18 22:00 Edited 2011-07-18 22:03
Thank you for your positive feedback! As a developer, this is very encouraging to hear :))

I agree the grappler controls can be improved. It always feels like you can do a lot of crazy stuff with it, like jump and climb around sharp edges. But more often than not, Clonk getting stuck somewhere between clinging to the rope and the surface gets in the way. Maybe it would help if you could press direction+click on the rope to let go and jump in a specified direction at the same time, so you can jump away from the surface and around corners without getting stuck.